Powered by Blogger.

About Vijay Kumar Pandit

Pandit Vijay Kumar
(1905- 1977)

Late Pandit Vijay Kumar has held the distinction of being the first bollywood actor from Shimla.
He was born on 10th March 1905 in Shageen village near Shimla (Himachal Pradesh).

He did matriculation from Shimla & F.A. from Mahindra College, Patiala. He graduated in 1930 from S.D. College, Lahore and passed his M.O.L from Oriental College, Lahore in 1932.

While studying in 8th standard he played first time a female role of "Naushaba" in Agha Hashra Kasmiri's play "Aasir-E-Hins" produced by Edward A.D.C. at Gaiety Theatre, Shimla.

After graduation he joined the service in the office of Maharaja of Patiala HH Bhupindra Singh at Patiala. During his services he formed a Dramatic Club with his colleagues and directed many plays like "Parivartan". Mr. S.D. Batish A renowned music director also acted and sang in the "Parivartan" drama. Mr Gopal Krishan Mehta a famous film director of Premier Film Co. visited Patiala and impressed by the acting of Mr. Vijay Kumar and cast him as leading role in his silent film "Dukhter-E-Zamana".

During his film carrier from 1935 to 1938 Mr. Vijay Kumar worked as an actor in the following movies.
 AZAADI (1935)

Prod. : Shakti Movitone
Dir. : R. Sharma
Music : Mushtaq Hussain
Cast : Vijay Kumar, Ashalata,NaazBano, Noorjahan and Dinanath.

 SHADI KI RAAT(1935) Prod.: Bhavnani Production Dir. : Mohan Bhavnani Music : G. Devaskar Cast : Vijay Kumar, Nargis, Nayam Pally, Sharifa and Omkar            SAJIV MURTI

Prod. :
Shakti Movitone
Dir. :
Music :
Bhai Chella
Cast :
Vijay Kumar, Ashalata, Nirmal and Roshanara
Prod. : East India Film CompanyDir. : Devki Kumar BoseMusic : K.C. Dey Lyrics : Vijay Kumar Cast : Vijay Kumar, Kamla Jharia, Rampyari, Tara Pandit and Mazhar Khan.     
ABHAGIN (1938)
Prod. : New Theatres, Calcutta
Dir. : Prafula Roy Music : R.C. Boral, Pankaj Mullick
Cast : Vijay Kumar, Molina, Devbala and Prithvi Raj Kapoor.
      ASHA (1938)
Prod. : Film Corpn. Of India Dir. : Perry Devia and Ranjit SenMusic : Vikram Chaudhry Cast : Vijay Kumar, Kamlesh Kumari, Poorna Chaudhry, Devbala and Kamran